Skip to main content

Research Repository

Advanced Search

Evaluation of Food for Life 2013-15: Summary and synthesis report

Jones, Matthew; Pitt, Hannah; Orme, Judy; Bray, Issy; Gray, Selena; Kimberlee, Richard; Means, Robin; Oxford, Liz; Powell, Jane; Salmon, Debra; Weitkamp, emma

Authors

Mathew Jones Matthew.Jones@uwe.ac.uk
Associate Professor in Public Health

Hannah Pitt

Judy Orme Judy.Orme@uwe.ac.uk
Professor/Ins Director ISHE

Issy Bray Issy.Bray@uwe.ac.uk
Associate Head of Department, Research and Knowledge Exchange

Robin Means robin.means@uwe.ac.uk

Liz Oxford

Jane Powell Jane.Powell@uwe.ac.uk
Professor in Public Health Economics

Debra Salmon debra.salmon@uwe.ac.uk

Emma Weitkamp Emma.Weitkamp@uwe.ac.uk
Associate Professor in Science Communication



Abstract

This is the final report of the phase two evaluation of Food for Life undertaken by the University of the West of England, Bristol 2013-15.

The research encompassed five workstreams:
1. Long term impacts and durability - understanding how and why the Food for Life approach is embedded in schools for the medium to long-term.
2. Review of local commissions - understanding strategic support for Food for Life, and recommending monitoring and evaluation systems.
3. Cross sectional study of pupils’ diets in Food for Life local commissions - evaluating Food for Life’s impact on healthy eating behaviours in schools in local commission areas.
4. New settings - exploring innovative approaches to extending the Food for Life whole setting approach beyond schools.
5. Social value of Food for Life in local authority commissions – understanding the social, health, economic and environmental value of Food for Life commissions.

The report presents summaries of the findings of each workstream, discusses themes emerging across the research, and sets out recommendations for Food for Life and associated evaluation activity.

Report Type Project Report
Publication Date Feb 1, 2016
Peer Reviewed Not Peer Reviewed
ISBN 9781860435300
APA6 Citation Jones, M., Pitt, H., Orme, J., Bray, I., Gray, S., Kimberlee, R., …Weitkamp, E. (2016). Evaluation of Food for Life 2013-15: Summary and synthesis report
Keywords food, health promotion, public health, sustainability, community engagement
Publisher URL http://www.foodforlife.org.uk/~/media/files/evaluation%20reports/1foodforlifeevaluation1315summarysynthesisreport.pdf

Files







You might also like



Downloadable Citations

;