Skip to main content

Research Repository

See what's under the surface

Uwe boxed: Empowering students in the ‘real world’-providing responsible research and innovation opportunities through the boxed project

Bourne, Katherine; Wilkinson, Clare; Bancroft, Mandy; Robinson, Gareth; Noel, Catherine; Varadi, Aniko; Watson, Melanie; Foster, Maxine; Lewis, Debbie

Authors

Katherine Bourne katherine.bourne@uwe.ac.uk

Clare Wilkinson Clare.Wilkinson@uwe.ac.uk
Associate Professor in Science Communication

Amanda Bancroft Mandy.Bancroft@uwe.ac.uk
Faculty Academic Director for Widening Participation

Gareth Robinson gareth.robinson@uwe.ac.uk

Catherine Noel catherine3.noel@live.uwe.ac.uk

Aniko Varadi Aniko.Varadi@uwe.ac.uk
Professor in Biomedical Research

Melanie Watson

Maxine Foster

Debbie Lewis debbie.lewis@uwe.ac.uk



Abstract

© 2017 The Author(s). Published by Informa UK Limited, trading as Taylor & Francis Group. The Faculty of Health and Applied Sciences at the University of the West of England, Bristol has been piloting a schools outreach project entitled BoxED (EDucation in a Box) since 2015. School activities are inspired from the research and teaching of our academics, and the BoxED team have developed a series of hour long activities, linked to the national curriculum, which are delivered in schools across the south-west region. Alongside the somewhat obvious benefits to school pupils, this project presents numerous opportunities and benefits for our students to develop ‘real-world’ skills, enabling them to successfully enter the employment market on graduating from their studies. The challenge now is to ensure the success can be built upon by securing future funding to enable a greater number of students the opportunity to engage with the project and they themselves to then develop those necessary enterprise and entrepreneurial skills appropriately, alongside their chosen subject of study-ready for the ‘real-world’.

Journal Article Type Article
Publication Date Jan 1, 2018
Journal Higher Education Pedagogies
Print ISSN 2375-2696
Electronic ISSN 2375-2696
Peer Reviewed Peer Reviewed
Volume 3
Issue 1
Pages 451-462
APA6 Citation Bourne, K., Wilkinson, C., Bancroft, M., Robinson, G., Noel, C., Varadi, A., …Lewis, D. (2018). Uwe boxed: Empowering students in the ‘real world’-providing responsible research and innovation opportunities through the boxed project. Higher Education Pedagogies, 3(1), 451-462. https://doi.org/10.1080/23752696.2018.1462098
DOI https://doi.org/10.1080/23752696.2018.1462098
Keywords outreach, employment, STEM, students, engagement, research
Publisher URL https://doi.org/10.1080/23752696.2018.1462098

Files







You might also like



Downloadable Citations