Skip to main content

Research Repository

Advanced Search

An orchestral trip through the moons of our solar system

Glester, Andrew


Profile Image

Andrew Glester
Senior Lecturer in Science Communication


James Dacey


This month’s episode of Physics World Stories features an interview with composer Amanda Lee Falkenberg with music from her The Moons Symphony. Her creation takes listeners on an epic journey through the science and stories of the moons of our solar system.

The seven-movement symphony dramatizes the geophysical features of Io, Europa, Titan, Enceladus, Miranda and Ganymede, before turning to our own Moon for a two-part finale. In creating the work, Australian-born Falkenberg immersed herself in the scientific research and consulted many scientists and astronauts.

The Moons Symphony performed by the London Symphony Orchestra is available now via Signum Records.

Digital Artefact Type Audio
Acceptance Date Mar 22, 2024
Online Publication Date Mar 22, 2024
Publication Date Mar 22, 2024
Deposit Date Jul 1, 2024
Public URL

You might also like

Downloadable Citations